Welcome to the world of Ryugakusei!

What’s your image of Japan?

Souvenirs in Tokushima prefecture

I am sure that sushi, anime, manga, Jpop, kawaii culture, bustling metropolis, crowded trains and more will pop into many of your minds.

But, have you ever wondered what is it like to come to this country as a university student? Not everything here is as crazy as it looks or maybe it is?

Before we get started, a self-introduction is mandatory! Since Ryugakusei Town has more than one writer, we’ll introduce ourselves taking turns.

Eduardo H.

Outside Nagoya Castle.

Eduardo outside Nagoya Castle

Hello everyone! My name is Eduardo Higginson and I am one of the writers here at Ryugakusei Town. I am currently a university student. I am originally from Lima, Peru and I’ve been living in Japan for 3 years so far.

I am a bit of a foodie, a bit of an otaku and a bit of a traveler. I like talking about food, whether it is Japanese, Korean or Mexican! Also discuss weird news, kawaii culture, university life, drinking, game centers and more.

The first Japanese thing in my life was a Game Boy with a Super Mario Land and Pokemon games. I am still in love in Nintendo, but not as much as I used to be. I do hit the game centers often, though.

My favorite cities in Japan are Tokyo and Nagoya. Tokyo is just so vast, full of dining, entertainment, concerts, trains and so on I can’t get enough of it. Nagoya is also a big city, but has wider roads, delicious regional food and an amazing castle, to name a few.

As cliche as it might be, my favorite Japanese dish is the quintessential sushi! I go to sushi train restaurants (回転寿司) once a week on average!

Please, comment my posts anytime! Every kind of reaction would be appreciated. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

