Japanese fans – うちわ

Hello guys! The summer solstice occurred last week so we can officially say the Northern Hemisphere has entered summer! Although, as Elie A said in his last post, Japan is in the middle of the rainy season, it gets HOT when it’s not raining. One of my favorite ways to relieve the heat when I’m out is using Japanese fans, better known as うちわ uchiwa. 

Uchiwa are actually very traditional. Some drawings dating from the 19th century already depicted women using them.

Seiki Kuroda's "Lakeside"

Seiki Kuroda’s “Lakeside”

Nowadays, uchiwa are rather easy to get. They’re usually made of plastic and have pictures advertising products, events and more on them.

ad

I know they’re not an engineering wonder, but trust me, they do make you feel refreshed when walking in a sunny, hot day.

I don't really know what it advertises, but I've been using this one recently

I don’t really know what it advertises, but I’ve been using this one recently

They also come in small and large sizes, but the ones with ads on them are usually medium sized. Large ones can be found in “100 yen shops” and other stores. Traditional, wood ones are also easy to find, but I have a feeling plastic ones are more effective.

And of course, they make very good souvenirs!

Eduardo H.

Eduardo H.

Leave a Reply

